Greetings from the Physics Department! The Physics@Berkeley E-Newsletter explores the work of our faculty, students, and visitors. We hope to interest and excite you about the research, teaching, and extraordinary creativity happening in the Department. Read on and share this email with a friend!

[To remove your name from Berkeley Online and/or manage other e-communications from UC Berkeley, follow the link(s) at the end of this message. If this e-mail was forwarded to you, you may subscribe to it by emailing Maria Hjelm (]

Issue 2, Volume 3
February 2010

Award Established in Memory of Jackson C. Koo, Physicist

A new award for graduate students, the Dr. Jackson C. Koo Award, was established in 2008 with an endowment from Mrs. Jackson C. Koo.The annual award will go to one or two high-achieving graduate students selected by a committee of Department of Physics faculty and staff, with preference toward students of condensed matter theory.

The first annual Jackson C. Koo Award was given to condensed matter theorist Cheol Hwan Park at the 2009 Commencement. Park is a member of Berkeley physics professor Steven Louie’s research group, where he does theoretical studies on graphene, graphene superlattices, and boron nitride nanotubes.

Dr. Koo received BS and MS degrees in Electrical Engineering from UC Berkeley in 1961 and 1963, respectively, and a PhD in physics from Berkeley in 1969. He was a member of the Berkeley Honor Students Society and Phi Beta Kappa. After graduating, he worked at AT&T Bell Laboratories, then joined the staff at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory as a Physicist. During his career he published numerous papers and was listed as an inventor on eight patent applications and three provisional applications.

Cheol Hwan Park receiving the award.

Physics home | February Newsletter Home