Physics @ Berkeley
Outstanding GSI's Print E-mail

2009-10 Awards 

Click here for OGSI accumulative list (1969 - present)
Click here for 2010-2011 OGSI nomination information.

During the 2009-2010 academic year 114 Graduate Student Instructors (GSIs) taught over 5000 students in discussion and laboratory sections. Based upon student evaluations and nominations from students and faculty, eleven GSIs have been identified for recognition with the Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor (OGSI) Award. These awards were presented as part of the Physics, Astronomy, and Physical Sciences Graduation Ceremony held on Monday, May 17, 2010 at 7:00 PM in Zellerbach Auditorium.

The following GSIs were selected to receive the 2009-2010 OGSI Award in recognition of excellence in teaching:


Jordan Carlson
Robert Clarke
Tom Griffin
Sharon Jue
Jacob Lynn
Jonathan Ouellet
Byung Kyu Park
Kevin Schaeffer
Josiah Schwab
Allen Sussman
Patrick Varilly


Besides a certificate of commendation from Graduate Division, each Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor receives a cash award of $250 plus a membership in the American Association of Physics Teachers and a subscription to the AAPT Journal.  Professor Robert Karplus established the tradition of the AAPT memberships, which the Physics Department continues in his honor.