Physics @ Berkeley
Physics in the News
Title: John Clarke Elected As Foreign Associate Of The National Academy Of Sciences
Date: 05/01/2012
Publication: UC Berkeley News Center
Editor: Robert Sanders
Extended Text:

Four University of California, Berkeley, faculty members two physicists, a chemist and an ecologist have been elected members or foreign associates of the National Academy of Sciences, according to an announcement today (Tuesday, May 1) from the NAS.

The four are among 84 new members and 21 foreign associates from 15 countries elected in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. NAS membership is one of the highest honors given to a scientist or engineer in the United States.

The new members are John F. Hartwig, the Henry Rapoport Chair in Organic Chemistry; Mary Power, professor of integrative biology; and Bernard Sadoulet, professor of physics. John Clarke, professor of physics and a citizen of the United Kingdom, was elected a foreign associate.