Physics @ Berkeley
Physics in the News
Title: 5 Faculty Elected To National Academy Of Sciences
Date: 04/25/2006
Publication: UC Berkeley News
Editor: Robert Sanders
Extended Text:

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS), which represents the nation's elite scientists and engineers and serves as official adviser to the federal government, announced today (Tuesday, April 25) the election of 72 new members and 18 foreign associates, including five University of California, Berkeley, faculty members.

The newly elected UC Berkeley faculty members are Jillian F. Banfield, professor of earth and planetary science and of environmental science, policy and management; Robert P. Lin, professor of physics and director of UC Berkeley's Spaces Sciences Laboratory; Michael A. Marletta, Aldo DeBenedictis Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and professor of molecular and cell biology; David A. Patterson, professor of electrical engineering and computer science; and Dan-Virgil Voiculescu, professor of mathematics. Banfield and Marletta also are faculty scientists at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

UC Berkeley now boasts 132 members of the academy, a 143-year-old private organization of scientists and engineers that advises the nation's leaders, upon request, in matters of science and technology