In recognition of his studies in superfluid helium of important macroscopic quantum effects on the single quantum level including the detection of single quantized vortex lines, the photography of quantized vortices and the proof of quantization of circulation in 3He, and for his development of weak link arrays in both 3He and 4He and the discoveries of a rich variety of related phenomena including quantum interference.

List of previous and current winners