Breakthrough Prize Winners Announced

Kam-Biu Luk and Teams at Daya Bay Awarded

Monday, November 9, 2015 to Tuesday, November 10, 2015

UC Berkeley mathematician Ian Agol and a team of neutrino physicists led by UC Berkeley and Berkeley Lab physicist Kam-Biu Luk are among this year’s Breakthrough Prize recipients announced Sunday, Nov. 8, at a star-studded event broadcast live on the National Geographic Channel. Also honored are the US KamLAND and SNO experiments, both with teams including UC Berkeley scientists. The KamLAND Berkeley team was headed by Stuart Freedman before his death in 2012 (pictured below).

The awards, given annually in the life sciences, physics and mathematics, celebrate scientists and seek to generate excitement about the pursuit of science as a career. They are sponsored by Google co-founder Sergey Brin and his wife, Anne Wojcicki, a founder of the genetics company 23andMe; Alibaba Group founder Jack Ma and his wife, Cathy Zhang; Russian entrepreneur and venture capitalist Yuri Milner and his wife, Julia; and Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg and his wife, Priscilla Chan.

Watch videos from the ceremony, and interviews with the winners in science here:

2015 Breakthrough Prize Ceremony

Physics Prize presentation

Robert Sanders