Roger Falcone, Uros Seljak Elected as Members of NAS

Tuesday, April 30, 2019

The National Academy of Sciences announced today the election of 100 new members and 25 foreign associates in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Among them, eight are UC Berkeley faculty, and two are Physics Department faculty: Roger Falcone, Professor of the Graduate School in Physics and current Past-President of the American Physical Society, and Uros Seljak, Professor in Physics and Astronomy, Co-director of the Berkeley Center for Cosmological Physics, and Faculty Senior Scientist at LBNL.

Physics professor Roger Falcone uses X-rays to study how materials behave under extreme temperatures and pressures. He is an affiliated member of Berkeley’s Energy and Resources Group and Applied Science and Technology Program.

Uros Seljak, professor of physics and astronomy, is co-director of the Berkeley Center for Cosmological Physics and a senior scientist at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. His work uses observations of the cosmos to try to understand fundamental properties of the universe, including the nature of dark matter and dark energy and how the universe formed.

Congratulations Roger and Uros!

Kara Manke