Skip to Content
Physics @ Berkeley
Skip to Content
Skip to Content
Professor in Chemistry, Physics, Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences and Director, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, born 1943; B.S. (1965), M.S. (1966), Ph.D. (1969) in Electrical Engineering, University of California, Berkeley; AT&T Bell Laboratories: Member of Technical Staff (1969-76), Head, Quantum Physics & Electronics Research Department (1976-83), Director, Electronics Research Laboratory, (1983-89); R.W. Wood Prize (1981); Franklin Institute Edward Longstreth Medal (1982); IEEE Morris E. Leeds Award (1983); Regentís Lecturer, University of California (1984); Chairman, New Jersey Commission of Science and Technology Panel on Photonics (1988): Member, California Council on Science and Technology (1989); Member, National Critical Technologies Panel, Executive Office of the President, Office of Science and Technology (1990); David Sarnoff Award (1989); Distinguished Engineering Alumnus Award (1990); SPIE - The International Society for Optical Engineering Edgerton Award (1990); Fellow, AAAS, APS, IEEEE, OSA; Elected Member, National Academy of Engineering (1983), National Academy of Sciences (1984).
Charles V Shank
Research: Condensed Matter Physics And Materials Science
Campus Office:
419 Latimer
Fax: (510) 486-6250