Symposium for Mary K. Gaillard

September 21, 2019

Symposium for Mary K. Gaillard

From Charm to Strings

Saturday, September 21, 2019 - 9:00am to Sunday, September 22, 2019 - 5:00pm

This was a 2-day symposium in celebration of Mary K. Gaillard's contributions to science over her distinguished career. The symposium was held at the Brower Center in Downtown Berkeley, and featured talks by the following scientists.

In 1981, Mary K. Gaillard became the first woman to join the Berkeley Physics faculty. Her career as a theoretical physicist spanned the period from the inception — in the late 1960's and early 1970s — of what is now known as the Standard Model of particle physics and its experimental confirmation, culminating with the discovery of the Higgs particle in 2012.

In 2015, a memoir describing Gaillard's career, A Singularly Unfeminine Profession: One Woman's Journey in Physics, was published by World Scientific. The book recounts Gillard's experiences as a woman in a very male-dominated field, while tracing the development of the Standard Model as she witnessed it and participated in it.

View the full event schedule with speaker slides

Download the poster for this event   


Nima Arkani-Hamed (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton)
Emilian Dudas (Ecole Polytechnique, U. Paris-Saclay)
John Ellis (CERN and King's College London)
Belén Gavela (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid)
Beate Heinemann (Albert Ludwigs University of Freiburg and DESY)
Rachel Houtz (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid)
Shirley Jackson (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)
Renata Kallosh (Stanford University)
Ann Nelson (University of Washington)
Brent Nelson (Northeastern University)
Pablo Quilez (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid)
Lisa Randall (Harvard University)
Jon Rosner (University of Chicago)
Raquel Santos-Garcia (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid)
Katelin Schutz (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Jessie Shelton (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)
Tracy Slatyer (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Tom Taylor (Northeastern University)

Organizing Committee

Mina Aganagic, Oren Cheyette, Troy Cortez, Ori Ganor, Dorota Grabowska, Lawrence Hall (Chair), Maria Hjelm, Petr Horava, Zoltan Ligeti, Hitoshi Murayama (Co-chair), LaVern Navarro, Rachel Schafer, Katelin Schutz, Marjorie Shapiro, Sarah Wittmer, Kathryn Zurek

sponsor logos MK Symposium