2022 Physics Commencement

2022 Physics Commencement
March 23, 2022
Monday, May 23, 2022

Berkeley Physics was pleased to hold the 2022 Commencement event in-person this year on Monday, May 16 at 2:00 p.m. in Zellerbach Hall. This year 116 grads walked the stage: 90 undergraduates (4 engineering physics, 86 physics) and 26 graduate students (2 MAs and 24 PhDs). The ceremonies were led by Physics Chair James Analytis. Student Speakers were Anasuya Lyons, A.B. Spring 2022 and QinQin Yu, Ph.D. Spring 2022.

Frances Hellman

This year's principal speaker was Frances Hellman, President of the American Physical Society, Physics Professor, and Former Dean of Mathematical and Physical Sciences, College of Letters and Sciences.

Congratulations to the class of 2022! View photos from the commencement ceremony and celebration here.

The 2022 Student Awards

Department Citation
Andi Gu

Lars Commins Memorial Award in Experimental Physics
Shannon Haley

Jackson C. Koo Award in Condensed Matter
Francisco Leal Machado
Nikola Maksimovic

Student Services Awards
Shantanu Kadam
Juan Camilo Buitrago-Casas
David Dunsky

2021-2022 Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Awards
Robin Anthony-Peterson
Adrian Bayer
Iván Mauricio Burbano Aldana
Joy Carpio
Andres Franco Valiente
Martina Hebert
Dhruva Karkada
Artiom Kisselev
Jonathon Kruppe
Carl Marth
Yujin Park
Maggie Reed
Kevin Wang
Emma Yeats