Berkeley Physics scientists honored with Frontiers of Science Award

July 18, 2023

Graphic from the Basic Science award website

Berkeley Physics congratulates Physics faculty members Ehud Altman and Geoff Penington, along with Physics Postdocs Aavishkar Patel and Tom Rudelius and Physics Graduate Students Erik Aldape and Tessa Cookmeyer for their achievements in Condensed Matter Physics and Theoretical Physics. 

They have been recognized with a Frontiers of Science Award at the Inaugural International Congress of Basic Science which honors top research reported in papers published in the past five years. The International Congress for Basic Science honors top research, with an emphasis on achievements from the past five years that are of the "highest scientific value and originality", "have made an important impact on its area" and have been "evaluated and accepted by scholars in its area."

Details of their Journals and Papers can be found below.

Further details of awardees can be found at the International Congress of Basic Science website

Paper title: Entanglement Wedge Reconstruction and the Information Paradox
Journal: Journal of High Energy Physics(2020)
Authors: Geoffrey Pennington (UC Berkeley) 

Paper title: Emergence of Weak Coupling at Large Distance in Quantum Gravity
Authors: Ben Heidenreich (University of Massachusetts Amherst)
Matthew Reece (Harvard University)
Tom Rudelius (UC Berkeley)

Paper title: Solvable theory of a strange metal at the breakdown of a heavy Fermi liquid
Journal: PHYSICAL REVIEW B(2022)
Authors: Erik E. Aldape (University of California, Berkeley)
Tessa Cookmeyer (University of California, Berkeley)
Aavishkar A. Patel (University of California, Berkeley)
Ehud Altman (University of California, Berkeley)

International Congress of Basic Science