Faculty News

James Analytis one of five 2024 Bakar Prize recipients

March 12, 2024

Five 2024 Bakar Prize recipients

The five 2024 Bakar Prize recipients are, clockwise from upper left, Maria Paz Gutierrez, Boubacar Kante, James Analytis, Rebecca Abergel and Jay Keasling.

Five UC Berkeley faculty members have been awarded the 2024 Bakar Prize, which is designed to give a boost to campus innovators as they translate their discoveries into real-world solutions.

This year's winners are trying to...

Geoff Penington among 9 new Sloan Fellows from UC Berkeley

February 20, 2024

9 Sloan Recipients

UC Berkeley's 2024 Sloan Research Fellows are (clockwise from upper left) Dipti Nayak, Kwabena Bediako, Michael Lindsey, Meng-meng Fu, Nika Haghtalab, Geoff Penington, Preeya Khanna, Yakun Sophia Shao and Penny Wieser.

As a sign of the University of California, Berkeley's ability to attract the most promising early-career researchers, nine young assistant professors have been named 2024 Sloan...

Dan Stamper-Kurn One of New UC Berkeley AAAS Fellows

January 30, 2023

New 2022 Fellows of AAAS

Professor Dan Stamper-Kurn is one of eleven UC Berkeley faculty members have been elected lifetime fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science.

The new members, among 508 total 2022 AAAS fellows, bring the number of UC Berkeley AAAS fellows — active and retired — to 226...

Berkeley Physics Welcomes New Faculty Member Luca Iliesiu

January 18, 2024

Luca Iliesiu

Berkeley Physics welcomes our newest faculty member: Luca Iliesiu

Luca Iliesiu received his BA in Physics from Princeton University in 2015 and remained there for his PhD which he received in 2020. He was then...

Berkeley Physics scientists honored with Frontiers of Science Award

July 18, 2023

Graphic from the Basic Science award website

Berkeley Physics congratulates Physics faculty members Ehud Altman and Geoff Penington, along with Physics Postdocs Aavishkar Patel and Tom Rudelius and Physics Graduate Students Erik Aldape and Tessa Cookmeyer for their achievements in Condensed Matter Physics and Theoretical Physics.

They have been recognized with a Frontiers of Science Award at the Inaugural...

Dung-Hai Lee Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

April 19, 2023

Photo of Dung-Hai Lee

Dung-Hai Lee, a faculty senior scientist in Berkeley Lab’s Materials Sciences Division and co-principal investigator in the Theory of Materials and Quantum Materials programs, and a professor of physics at UC Berkeley, is among 269 new members announced recently. Lee’s research focuses on condensed matter physics...

Michael Zaletel among inaugural recipients of the L&S Faculty Award

April 21, 2023

Photo of Mike Zaletel

The College of Letters & Science Advisory Board is pleased to announce the inaugural recipients of the L&S Faculty Award.

Associate Professor of Physics Michael Zaletel is a 2023 co-recipient of the David Blackwell Award, which he shares with Associate Professor of Geography, Jovan Scott Lewis.


Berkeley Physics Announces 2 New Faculty Hires

February 10, 2023

Color photos of Raul Briceno and Shimmon Kolkowitz

Berkeley Physics is pleased to announce that two new faculty members have joined the Physics Department:

Raúl Briceño

Raúl Briceño was born and raised in Caracas, Venezuela. In 2013, he received his PhD in Physics from the University of Washington. He then...