Roger Falcone Research Group

Home | Research | People | Curriculum Vitae | Publications

Roger W. FalconeRoger Falcone is a Professor of Physics at the University of California, Berkeley, and an affiliated faculty member of Berkeley's Energy and Resources Group and Applied Science and Technology Program. As of January 2018, he is a Professor of the Graduate School at Berkeley. He received his A.B. in Physics (1974) from Princeton and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering (1979) from Stanford, and was the Marvin Chodorow Fellow in Applied Physics (1980-83) at Stanford.

He was Chair of the Berkeley Physics Department (1995-2000), Director of the Advanced Light Source x-ray synchrotron facility at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (2006-2017), and President of the American Physical Society (2018).

Falcone is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and is a fellow of the American Physical Society, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and The Optical Society - OSA. 

He serves on the Advisory Board for the Lawrence Hall of Science (LHS), UC Berkeley's public science center, and is a Board Member of the Hertz Foundation, which supports outstanding PhD students in the sciences. He was co-founding-director of CalTeach, UC Berkeley’s program for undergraduate STEM majors interested in exploring a career in education, was a founding trustee of the Lafayette Library & Learning Center in his hometown, and was elected as a member, and served as president, of his local school board. 

Falcone chairs the Advisory Board for the Paul Scherrer Institute in Switzerland; chairs the International Scientific Advisory Committee (ISAC) for ELI Beamlines in the Czech Republic; and chairs the DOE FES LaserNetUS Science Advisory Board. He co-chairs the NSF MPS Facilities and Major Research Infrastructure Subcommittee. 

He is a member of the European Union ELI ERIC International Scientific and Technical Advisory Committee (ISTAC); International Scientific Advisory Committee for the French Apollon Research Infrastructure; External Advisory Committee of NSF's National High Magnetic Field Laboratory at Florida State University; Scientific advisory Committee for the Advanced Photon Source at Argonne National Laboratory; and the Advisory Board of the Nuclear Science and Security Consortium at UC Berkeley.

He was director of the UC Institute for Materials Dynamics at Extreme Conditions, and served on the Science and Technology Committee for the Board of Governors of Los Alamos and Lawrence Livermore Labs, the US & Russian National Academy of Sciences’ Study Committee on Missile Defense, and the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO) Program Advisory Committee. He was co-chair of the NSF-DMR Committee for the Materials 2022 Report and chair of the DOE-SC-, NNSA-, NSF-, and NPI-supported Brightest Light Initiative Workshop (2019)

Falcone received the APS 5-Sigma Physicist Award for Outstanding Advocacy (2019), APS Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics (2015, with seven others), APS Leo Szilard Lectureship Award (2005, with the APS Study Group), and Halbach Prize for Instrumentation at the ALS, LBNL (2000, with one other). He was an APS Distinguished Traveling Lecturer of the Laser Science Topical Group (1992-93) and received the Presidential Young Investigator Award of the NSF (1984).