Condensed Matter Physics & Materials Science Theorist

Dung-Hai Lee


Professor Dung-Hai Lee received his B.S. degree from the National Tsinghua University of Taiwan. He went to the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1977 for graduate studies, and received his Ph.D. in physics in 1982. After staying at M.I.T. for another two years, he joined the IBM T.J. Watson Research Center in 1984. Professor Lee spent eleven years at IBM, and came to Berkeley in February 1994.

Research Interests

Professor Lee is a theoretical condensed matter physicist. The principal goal of his research is to uncover new states of matter and understand their physical...

Marvin Cohen

University Professor of Physics, Professor Emeritus, Professor of the Graduate School

Marvin L. Cohen is University Professor of Physics at the University of California at Berkeley and Senior Faculty Scientist at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. Cohen’s current and past research covers a broad spectrum of subjects in theoretical condensed matter physics. He is a recipient of the National Medal of Science, the Benjamin Franklin Medal in Physics, the American Physical Society Oliver E. Buckley Prize for Solid State Physics, the Dickson Prize in Science, the Von Hippel Award of the Materials Research Society, the American Physical Society Julius Edgar Lilienfeld...

New quasiparticle discovered in moiré patterns

November 8, 2022

Moiré superlattice quasiparticle

If you hold one wire mesh on top of another one and look through it, you'll see a larger pattern called a moiré pattern formed by the overlapping grids of the two meshes, which depends on their relative twisted angle. Scientists developing new materials are actively studying moiré patterns in overlapping atomically thin materials — they produce intriguing...

Mike Zaletel

Associate Professor

Michael Zaletel joined the Department of Physics faculty in July 2018 and is the Thomas and Alison Schneider Chair. An Oakland native, he received his AA from Deep Springs College, his AB with highest honors in physics from Harvard University in 2009, and his Ph.D. at Berkeley working with Professor Joel Moore. In 2017, after a postdoctoral position in the quantum computing division of Microsoft Research at Station Q in Santa Barbara, he joined the faculty at Princeton Physics in 2017. He says he is...

Jeffrey Neaton


Jeffrey B. Neaton received his Ph.D. in physics from Cornell University in 2000. After a postdoc at Rutgers University, and after having worked at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory as a postdoc and staff scientist at the Molecular Foundry, he joined the UC Berkeley faculty in 2014. He is currently Director of the Molecular Foundry, a Department of Energy Nanoscale Science Research Center at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, where he is also a Senior Faculty Scientist. Neaton has received a Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Outstanding Achievement Award in 2007, and the...

Joel Moore


Joel Moore joined the physics department faculty as an assistant professor in January 2002. He received his A.B. summa cum laude in physics from Princeton University in 1995 and spent a Fulbright year abroad before graduate studies at MIT on a Hertz fellowship. He worked at the Institute for Theoretical Physics at UCSB (fall 2000) and in theoretical physics research at Bell Labs (2001) before coming to Berkeley. He is a Simons Investigator, an elected Fellow of the American Physical Society, and the current holder of the Chern-Simons Chair in Mathematical Physics. He is also a Senior...

Norman Yao

Associate Professor

Norman Yao joined the physics department as an assistant professor in the summer of 2016. He received his A.B. summa cum laude with highest honors in physics and mathematics from Harvard University in 2009. After completing his Ph.D. at Harvard in 2014, he began postdoctoral work at UC Berkeley as a Miller Fellow. He is the recipient of the Radcliffe Institute's Captain Jonathan Fay Prize (2009), the Deborah Jin Award for Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Research in Atomic, Molecular, or Optical Physics (2015), the NSF CAREER award (2017), the Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship (2018), the David...

Ehud Altman


Professor Ehud Altman received his Ph.D. from the Technion, Haifa in 2002. He was then a postdoctoral fellow at Harvard university for three years before joining the faculty of the Weizmann Institute of Science as a Yigal Alon fellow in 2005. He was promoted to the rank of Associate professor there in 2011. In 2010 he was awarded the young investigator prize from the Israel Physical Society and the Krill prize of the Wolf foundation. During the academic year 2012-2013 he was a Miller visiting professor at UC Berkeley. He joined the Physics department of UC Berkeley as a professor in the...

Steven Louie


Steven G. Louie received his Ph.D. in physics from UC Berkeley in 1976. After having worked at the IBM Watson Research Center, Bell Laboratories, and University of Pennsylvania, he joined the UC Berkeley faculty in 1980. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences (2005), fellow of the American Physical Society (1985), senior faculty scientist and Theory Facility Director of the Molecular Foundry at LBNL, and editor of the journal Solid State Communications. He has been awarded a Sloan Fellowship (1980), a Guggenheim Fellowship (1989), two Miller Professorships (1986, 1995), the U.S...