Particle Physics Experimentalist

Heather Gray

Associate Professor

Heather attended the University of Cape Town in South Africa from 1999-2005 where she obtained a BSc, BSc (Hons) and then a MSc in Physics. She then attended the California Institute of Technology and obtained her Ph.D. in Physics in 2011. She then worked at CERN as a Research Fellow and Research Staff Scientist from 2011-2017 before moving to LBNL as a Divisional Fellow in 2017. Heather joined the UC Berkeley faculty as assistant professor in 2019. She received the IUPAP C11 Young Scientist Prize in 2018.

Research Interests

I am an experimental particle physicist working on the...

Dmitry Budker

Professor Emeritus of the Graduate School

Dmitry Budker received his Ph.D. in physics from UC Berkeley in 1993 and was a postdoctoral researcher at the University until his faculty appointment in 1995. Born in the former USSR, Budker was a student at the Novosibirsk State University from 1980 until 1985, when he received an equivalent to MS with honors from the Department of Physics. He then served as a junior researcher at the Institute of Nuclear Physics, where he conducted research on laser spectroscopy of atoms. In 1994, Budker received the American Physical Society Award for Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Research in Atomic,...

Herbert Steiner

Professor Emeritus

Herbert Steiner received his B.S. in Engineering Physics in 1951 and his Ph.D. in Physics in January 1956, both from the University of California, Berkeley. From 1956 to 1960 he was a research physicist at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and a lecturer in the Berkeley Department of Physics. After a year as a Guggenheim and Ford Foundation Fellow at CERN in Geneva, Switzerland he joined the Berkeley Physics faculty in 1961. He served as chairman of the Physics Department from 1992 to 1995. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society and the recipient of an Alexander von...

Daniel McKinsey

The Georgia Lee Distinguished Professor of Physics

Daniel N. McKinsey joined the Physics Department faculty in July 2015. He received a B.S. in Physics with highest honors at the University of Michigan in 1995. His Ph.D. was awarded by Harvard University in 2002, with a thesis on the magnetic trapping, storage, and detection of ultracold neutrons in superfluid helium. His postdoctoral research was performed at Princeton University, and in 2003 he joined the Yale University physics department, where he was promoted to Full Professor in 2014. He was awarded a Packard Fellowship in Science and Engineering Fellowship and an Alfred P. Sloan...

Gabriel Orebi Gann

Associate Professor

Gabriel attended the University of Cambridge in the UK from 2000 to 2004, where she received her BA and MSci in Natural Sciences. She went on to the University of Oxford, and was awarded her DPhil in Particle and Nuclear Physics in 2008. Her post-doctoral research was performed at the University of Pennsylvania, in Professor Klein's research group, working on SNO and its successor, the SNO+ experiment. Gabriel joined the U.C. Berkeley faculty in 2012.

Research Interests

I am an experimental particle physicist, with an interest in weakly interacting particles. My research focuses on...

Kam-Biu Luk


Kam-Biu attended the University of Hong Kong from 1973 to 1976 where he received his B.Sc. in Physics. He went on to Rutgers University in 1977 and was awarded his Ph.D. in 1983. Then he did his postdoctoral research at the University of Washington in Seattle until 1986 when he went to Fermilab as an Associate Scientist. Professor Luk came to UC Berkeley/LBL in 1989. He received the R.R. Wilson Fellow of Fermilab in 1986-1989; won the Department of Energy Outstanding Junior Investigator award in 1989-1991; received the Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow in 1990-1994; a Miller Professor in the...

James Siegrist

Professor Emeritus

Professor Siegrist received his Ph.D. from Stanford in 1979. He joined the UCB Faculty in 1988. He has served as the Director of the Physics Division at LBNL since 1996.

Research Interests

Professor Siegrist has worked since the late 1980's on the physics of electroweak symmetry breaking. Current work centers on the ATLAS experiment at CERN. Recent physics interests include the Dark Matter searches using the ATLAS experiment, and applications of instrumentation to problems in nuclear energy, especially non-proliferation.

Current Projects
The current ATLAS...

Michael S. Witherell

Professor and Director Lawrence Berkeley National Lab

Michael Witherell is Director of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and Professor of Physics. Previously he was Vice Chancellor for Research and held the Presidential Chair in Physics at the University of California, Santa Barbara, and before that he was Director of Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (Fermilab).

Witherell received his B.S. from the University of Michigan and his Ph.D. in experimental particle physics from the University of Wisconsin. He then served on the faculty at Princeton and at UC Santa Barbara. He won the W. K. H. Panofsky Prize in Experimental Particle...

Marjorie Shapiro


Marjorie D. Shapiro received her Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley in December 1984. She joined the Physics Department in 1990. She was a Presidential Young Investigator 1989-94 and is a Fellow of the American Physical Society.

Research Interests

I am an experimental particle physicist whose interests lie in probing the most basic interactions in nature. There now exists a theory of the Strong and Electroweak interactions (“the Standard Model”) that has been tested to high accuracy and that explains almost all existing experimental data. The great success of this...

Haichen Wang

Assistant Professor

Haichen Wang received a B.S. in physics from Peking University in 2007, and a Ph.D. in physics from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 2013. His Ph.D. thesis was about the discovery of the Higgs boson using data collected by the ATLAS experiment at CERN's Large Hadron Collider. He was an Owen Chamberlain fellow at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory from 2013 to 2018 before joining the Physics Department in January 2019. In 2021, he received a CAREER award from the National Science Foundation to develop novel machine learning applications for particle physics and construct...